Categories
Blogs

Why you should deactivate your Instagram and not delete it

There comes a time when you need a break from social networks, including from one of the most popular and important platforms, such as Instagram. And it’s okay if you want to take a break from the potential fatigue, stress, and anxiety that social media can bring to you. But, our suggestion for you is: don’t delete permanently but deactivate your Instagram profile, because your close and dearest people probably will continue to use it and they will share events of their lives time after time.

And at this present time, the best way to keep up with what your friends and people you admire are doing with their lives is through this social media platform. So, our suggestion is for you to deactivate only temporarily your Instagram account.

Another reason why we are suggesting for you to not delete permanently your Instagram account is the fact, that if you want to be part of the Instagram world again or you have to use it for work or any other activity, you have to do everything from the beginning: new username, new posts, and the most annoying part is that you have to gain new followers and to start following other users all over again.

So, if you just need to rest from it’s using, and you want to deactivate your account only temporarily, but you don’t know how, don’t worry, because, in this article, we will demonstrate to you how you can deactivate your account.

Deactivate your Instagram account temporarily

Before you decide to delete your Instagram account permanently, Instagram first recommends that you deactivate it for a certain period of time. Deactivating your Instagram account is a procedure that you can not do within the Instagram app, so you have to log in to your account on your browser.

Here’s how to temporarily deactivate your account:

  1. Open the browser on your phone or computer
  2. Visit www.instagram.com
  3. Log in to your account
  4. Click on your profile picture at the top-right corner of the page
  5. Select Edit Profile
  6. Scroll down and click Temporarily Disable My Account at the bottom-right corner of the page
  7. You must select an option in the menu next to ‘why you are disabling your account’
  8. You need to Re-enter your password
  9. And then, Click Temporarily Disable My Account
Deactivate your Instagram account temporarily
Deactivate your Instagram account temporarily

This procedure will deactivate your Instagram account only temporarily.

There is no time limit for how long you can keep your account disabled

You can keep your account inactive for as long as you want. There is no time limit for this procedure. But you should know that there is one limitation. At the moment Instagram allows you to deactivate your Instagram account only once per week. This is the only restriction when it comes to deactivating your account.

Why it is more ideal to deactivate your Instagram account than to delete it permanently

It’s a much better decision and solution to only deactivate your Instagram account temporarily than to delete it permanently, because if you decide to choose the latter, keep in mind that if you delete your account permanently, then this procedure can’t be undone. All your account history, including followers, followings, photos, stories, likes, and comments, will be permanently removed. Your Instagram profile picture will be permanently removed too, unfortunately.

So before taking the big decision, you should know that the effect of deactivating your account only temporarily, is the same as deleting your account permanently. Your posts, your likes, your comments all will disappear from the platform. People won’t be able to find your account until you decide to activate it again. Only the advantage is that, when you decide to reactivate your account again, all your data will be restored as they were before you deactivated your account.

How can I reactivate my Instagram account?

Reactivating your Instagram account it’s much easier than you think. It takes only a few simple steps, and just like that, your account is active all over again, exactly the same state that it was before deactivation.

All you have to do is:

  1. Launch/Install the Instagram app
  2. On the log screen, you must enter your username and your Instagram password
  3. Then tap login and this simple procedure will restore your account

Don’t forget, it’s crucial for you to remember your username and your password, in order to restore your account!